18. DECEMBER 2014 – SAN SEBASTIAN, LA GOMERA

Today I went on a trip around the island again. This time we’ve been on the island La Gomera, part of Canary Islands. Nice island, a little smaller than the others I think and it’s shape is almost round. But it has a lot of mountains, valleys and a lot of cliffs and rocky coastline. But it sure does look pretty amazing. I liked the scenery, although it is a little bit “empty” island, because there isn’t many villages and not many random houses in the middle of nowhere. But maybe that’s what makes it more pure.
I think my favourite part of the trip was when we were driving through some jungle. Our guide said that forest is part of Unesco natural heritage and it’s a national park. The whole forest is one of the oldest on the world, if I remember right, and once when these islands were still part of the mainland, this was part of a large forest that grew through the large part of Europe, part of northern Africa and what are now as Canary islands. If I remember the facts right, this is the largest part of it that still exists and there are few smaller parts on other Canary islands. When you drive through it you really see it is a jungle and I feel a little sad because we didn’t go out of the bus there and maybe walk through it a little. Maybe that’s a good enough reason to return some day. They say this island is great for hiking and mountain biking, so I guess I should revisit.
So I had another amazing trip full of gorgeous scenic. Because the girl I was replacing just left two days ago, this was the first time I was filming all by myself. Now I got the real picture how my job will look like in the next few months. To be honest… I love it! I’ve been here for about two weeks now and I still enjoy it so much! From time to time I still can’t believe I am here! And if there is something I don’t like too much I just ignore it, I’m not letting any stuff to destroy my happy moments. Well to be honest, there are not many things that I wouldn’t like anyway. =D

Leave a Reply

