15. and 16. DECEMBER 2014 – SANTA CRUZ, TENERIFE

15. DECEMBER
We reached the city Santa Cruz on Tenerife island, but since it was the last whole day of this cruise we were quite busy at the gallery. After we finished with work I decided to go for a walk around the town, because the scenery looked really nice through the window. And of course I often heard about Tenerife and everybody loved it, so I had to see at least a little bit.
As soon as I stepped on the shore I fell in love with the island. The views were gorgeous! High green hills, palm trees and the city that seemed just the right size. I walked through the town and I was amazed by the architecture. There is a beautiful fountain with two very interesting modern buildings that have the roof covered with plants. I always liked that type of architecture. Beside that I was impressed by other buildings as well, because most of them are historical and with some character. Another thing I loved was the street in old town, more like an avenue, but it’s a pedestrian zone, so there were no cars. The whole length of the street was full of trees, benches and really nice shops. At one part of the street I reached a small square with more amazing and unique trees. I realized I was in front of the city hall or something like that. There were also a lot of red Christmas star flowers – I am not sure how they are actually called, but I know them as Christmas star flowers. I had no idea they can just grow outdoors like that. In Slovenia we usually have them indoors.
Anyway, I really enjoyed the walk around the city. I was impressed by the amount of nice shops as well. I don’t really shop a lot, but this time I actually needed some new clothes and accessories, a little bit also because I didn’t pack a lot of stuff. Well I didn’t buy any clothes, but I managed to get a really useful purse that can be used in three different combinations. Very interesting. So yay, a successful day if you ask me.
When I was returning back to the ship I was looking at the houses on top of the hills and I imagined how nice views they must have from up there. I was a little bit sad, because I didn’t have time to explore the island or the rest of the city, but I decided that I will return some day. So far this is one of my favourite locations I have ever visited. Actually, I was so impressed by the city and I felt so at home that I said to myself that this might be my dream place to live someday. Well, first I would still like to visit and try to live in California, but if that plan fails, I think I found my plan B.
Anyway, in the evening we went out again, had some drinks, went to the night club and so on. I wasn’t really in the mood for party and I was quite tired, so I went back to the ship sooner than most of the others. And also we had to work in the morning, so I really needed some sleep.

16. DECEMBER
This was the last cruise day, so people were leaving in the morning. The girl I was replacing left as well, so we had to say goodbye. I must say I will miss her, even though I knew her for only a week, but she was really nice and we got along very well. I hope we’ll still keep in touch.
Anyway, again I had to work in the morning and later a new group of people arrived, so I had to shoot the video again. I got some really nice shots. After all that I had to edit all the footage and I did it faster than I thought I would, but when I exported the video I realized I forgot about some settings at the beginning, so I had to do everything all over again. Oh well, it happens, but now I know about this mistake and I will hopefully not do it again. So yeah, quite a busy day and sadly no time for me to have a walk around the city again. Hopefully next time, if nothing else, I’ll book my vacation here.

Leave a Reply

