Sailing – Day 4 – From Levrnaka to Biograd

Last day of our sailing trip. Great day, but sad at the same time, because we knew all that crazy world was waiting for us out there and this relaxed life on sailboat will go away… So we had to make this day count. We started it with a hike up the hill at Levrnaka. Our plan was to watch the sunrise from the top, but sadly there were clouds on the east side. But hey, it was still nice and the views were amazing.
There is a cross on top of the hill, but it seems you can find a cross on more or less every hill. But I am not sure if the same goes for stacking stones. On top of the hill there is a lot of stacked stones, some already look like a large pile, some are just few stones on top of another. Supposedly these bring luck. You grab a stone, you make a wish and you put it on one of the piles. I was joking what happens if you take few stones away from the pile, does that mean some people will not have their wish granted? I wasn’t so evil, so I didn’t do that… =D
When we climbed down we had some fun at the beach. We were like little kids, throwing stones in the water… But it was time for departure so we put our sails up and went into direction of Dugi Otok. We passed Sestrice, an island with amazing lighthouse, and if you ask me, that is the best thing at Kornati. Ok, yes, cliffs are amazing too, but this one is so iconic. At the narrow crossing between Kornati and Dugi Otok we passed ruins of Roman villa. When I see stuff like that my imagination starts working and I immediately though about the life 2000 years back. Sometimes I really wish I could live in that era.
Our next stop was small town Sali, that is actually the largest town at Dugi Otok. Guys cooked the fish they caught, so they had them for breakfast. I imagine it must have felt really cool to eat that well earned food, but I skipped that. I had enough vegan food with me. =)
On our way to Sali we passed a regatta and it seemed winds were great. And they sure were. On our way to marina in Biograd we were so lucky. The wind was just perfect and we were leaned to one side so we were able to touch the water with our feet! Really cool, but not so much for me – I was cooking inside! Well that was fun! And on top of all, our charter boat decided to clog the kitchen sink so it was full of water and it almost spilled. Luckily we were able to “take” some water out right on time.
Anyway, that was more or less the end of our trip. I needed it, I wanted it, I got it! I just hope we will be able to repeat it next year! =D

Blog post about our Day 1.
Blog post about our Day 2.
Blog post about our Day 3.

Leave a Reply

