Zatočne jame / caves

Lucky for me, my boyfriend knows some very unusual places and he comes up with not so common trips sometimes. He came up with this idea when we didn’t have much time and didn’t want to go too far away from home, so we went to these caves that are close to his town. I would never know about them, they are hidden between the trees, and just to reach the first trees you have to go off the main road, walk down the rocky road and then suddenly even that road ends and you keep on walking through a field of grass (and yes, it was full of fertilizer, so I can say I walked through a lot of sh*t that day). And there is just a random sign in the middle of nowhere where it is written something about the caves, and you go under some trees and “wow” effect hits you. You are suddenly in front of this huge cave entrance that is totally black, it has iron fence in front and is overgrown with moss. And it is not just black because it’s dark, that moss is actually black, or at least dark grey. Trust me, these photos I posted are not even close to showing the real feeling. It was raining and I really wasn’t prepared for shooting something like this, but I think I’ll have to return some day and take more time for photography because this location really is unique.

Anyway, all I know now about these caves (we visited two of them, there should be another one but we couldn’t find it) is that river Grosupeljščica is flowing in when there is a lot of rain. The whole fields in the area are under water at that time and water level rises to the top or even above the caves you see on photos. That is why those iron fences are there, to prevent large objects to clog up the caves.
It looks very impressive.

Leave a Reply

