ZOO Ljubljana

I haven’t been to the ZOO in Ljubljana probably for about fifteen years or something like that, so I guess it was about time for visit. I’ve been to some other ZOOs around the Europe until now, so now I have a better perspective on how they look like in other countries, since we like to compare and criticize more or less everything in Slovenia.
Well I have to say that since my last visit there sure have been some changes – most of them positive. Though I really missed some signs where the parrots are, because there were no labels explaining what kind of bird is in the cage. And I missed some direction signs, so it would be easier to orientate.
And there is another thing that bothered me, even though it is not really a fault of ZOO. Kids and their parents – they just don’t know how to behave! And even though there are signs “Do not feed the animals – your food might kill them” on many places, they just don’t care! They keep on feeding them. Especially at the elephant – one kid started to feed it with leaves from nearby bush and other kids saw that and wanted to do it too. And sadly, most parents even helped them do that… Really sad. =/
On the positive side, I must say I really liked the window they put below the water surface, so you can watch the sea lion swim by. Pretty cool. And the show they make when they feed a sea lion is impressive, almost a bit like in a circus, though I know it is not all only to entertain people but to examine the health of the animal as well.
And as always, on top of my favourites were the monkeys. Those funny cute small monkeys that you just want to take back home! They are so funny!
But to me, by far the cutest and most awesome creatures in the ZOO are the suricates (meerkats). I just love them! I could just stand there and watch them the whole day! They are quite new animals at this ZOO and when I was in ZOOs abroad they were always sleeping or something, so I didn’t have this kind of opportunity until now. They were so playful and loving and funny at the same time. I think I probably took about 100 of photos of them, so it was hard to make a small selection to put online.
So here are the animals (not all of them, but just a small selection of photos I took).

Leave a Reply

