My first international exhibition – Pula, Croatia

This time I am not sure if I can put all my thoughts and feelings into words. It is the first time my photos are exhibited outside Slovenia, which is quite a big thing for me. But to make it even more special, this is not just anywhere, my photos are exhibited in city of Pula, Croatia, which is one of my favourite cities. I’ve been there a few times and it amazes me every single time. It is probably because of such rich history and so many old buildings, statues and ruins from Roman times. I love more or less all the art from that era, but I am a bit obsessed with architecture, so the amphitheatre, the arch, temple and all the other stuff around there is like a dream to me. I was thinking and I imagine Pula a bit as a small Rome. I didn’t have a chance to visit Rome yet, but considering the remains from Roman times, I am guessing it must a bit similar.

Anyway, my photos are exhibited in a main tourist information centre on a forum – yes, this is the same place where it used to be an old Roman forum, now it is the main city square. There is still a small temple from those times, so to have my photos surrounded by so much history and on such an important location is really like a dream to me.
And on top of all, two of eleven churches in my photo series were taken in Pula. When I saw photos on a wall it just felt like they belong here, on a coast of Istria. It just wasn’t the same when they were exhibited in Gorica, Ljubljana or Kamnik, they were too far from the sea side.
So for me, this exhibition is simply a dream combination and I couldn’t be happier!

Also I have to say thanks to Slovenian community in Pula that organized the whole thing and made it possible. I could never do it without them! They really surprised me with their smiles, kindness and professional attitude at the same time. They even made a beautiful brochure and wrote quite a long text about the series. Really, amazing! I wish there would be more people like them… =)
And oh, on top of all, even some people from the local radio came and I had to give a short interview. That was totally unexpected and quite wonderful surprise, even though my speech was probably horrible… We shall see… =D

The exhibition is free and open to public every day until 20th May. You are more than welcome to visit it! =)

So here are some photos from the event and so on. Sorry for these huge watermarks, I have to fix the size soon… =D

Leave a Reply

