Weather is still Portuguese (days 122-123)

Day 122, Monday, 21.01.2013
I didn’t sleep well again and I kept on waking up during the night. I thought I got ill or something, because I woke up all sweaty, but then I realized that all of my beddings are full of moisture, even the bedding under my pillow. Everything! When I woke up in the morning I noticed that my whole window is totally covered with dew. I guess it’s because of so many rainy days in a row. But it’s just awful to wake up in these conditions. I don’t think I could ever get used to this. And the ceiling in our kitchen is getting worse and worse! The mold is just spreading and when it’s raining drops of water just keep on falling down. It’s crazy!
Well anyway, Gaja and I went to school in the morning, because we had to scan some photos and put all of our work on a cd. We did what we had to do and then we wanted to give our cd-s to the professor, but he wasn’t in the classroom, though we talked to him before. Our classmates said he said he’ll be back in about five minutes. We’ve been waiting for more than 15 minutes I’d say, but there was no sign of him. So I just had enough of these Portuguese minutes, so we just left those cd-s in a classroom, told our classmates that we left our work there and we went home. I just got sick and tired of all the waiting and slow motion in Portugal! I admit, I love to work; I love to do something productive or at least do something, not simply sit around and wait!
Oh, and I have to write about the conditions in a park and around school. Because of that extreme weather we had two days ago, there are really some fallen trees in a park and so many damaged branches lying around. There is quite a lot of damage. Then when we got closer to school we noticed there is a huge eucalyptus tree lying broken over small stream and it obviously hit the bridge too, so part of the tree was blocking the sidewalk and it broke part of a concrete fence. Pretty extreme I’d say. Then around the school there were some more broken trees and branches, but I didn’t see that anything would fall on school building, so I guess there was some luck.
When we returned home I started to get that annoying feeling about staying in Portugal. More and more I started to realize that the only thing that is actually convincing me to stay here is the ocean. I just love that and I would love to explore more cities and sights and so on, but honestly, I just can’t stand Portuguese lifestyle anymore. That’s just not me. And I feel bad because I didn’t try to surf, but I really wanted to do that these last days, but now the weather is just awful and I guess waves are too big anyway, so I guess that experience will have to wait for a little longer.
So to make it official, I’m returning to Slovenia in February and I’m not coming back to Portugal for the second semester. I had enough. =) Maybe most people can’t understand my decision and they would say: “You’re so stupid, take the opportunity!” Well honestly, that’s what I’ve been saying to myself, but I just can’t. I really had enough. =)

Day 123, Tuesday, 22.01.2013

It was so windy outside in the morning. Well actually the weather through the day just kept on changing all the time, so it was more or less typical Portuguese weather. When I just thought maybe I should do some laundry it started to rain and so on… But it stayed windy for most of the day, so I just stayed indoors. I studied some Portuguese anyway, because we have the exam tomorrow. I just feel that I shouldn’t look at all the Portuguese papers anymore, because I have a feeling that more that I’m trying to learn, the less I know. =)
Also I found information about sending package with part of my luggage back home. I found one option where you pay for the size of the package, but the weight limit is 40kg, so that would be great! I have to get myself some large box these days and just pack the heaviest stuff and send it home. It’s much cheaper than paying extra weight at the airport. So that’s what I will do. =)
Anyway, here are some photos that I did yesterday on my way to ESAD. You can see some damaged trees and just simply some mess that the wind did… Oh, and photos are made with my Olympus, so they are not the best quality I guess… =)

Leave a Reply

