Limp at Buddha Eden (day 81)

Day 81 – Sunday, 09.12.2012
Today I took enough time in the morning to have my breakfast with no rush and I packed some fruits, bottle of water and my camera in my backpack. Damir almost slept a bit too long, but I woke him up and we went on a train station. We arrived there few minutes before the train would leave. Then it turned out we’re in Portugal again and of course train left the station 10 minutes late. Oh well, we were in no rush anyway. We went off the train two stations later in the town named Bombarral.
When we got out of the train station we were a bit surprised by the scene, because it was like a ghost town, though there were some old men sitting in a local cheap pub right across the street. Like a scene from some movie when outsiders step out and everybody stares at them. =) Well we started walking along the rails and we got to some path that I guessed it must be the one I checked on Google Maps. Well it was the right path ok, but then we got to some crossroad and I wasn’t sure if we should turn left or right. I knew Google Maps showed I should go right, but the path on the left was going in the right direction and it looked just fine. So we turned left. After walking a couple hundred meters the path was getting narrower and more and more off-road. Then we noticed a man not far from us and we realized he was just loading the gun. It was a huntsman. It was a bit uncomfortable to be near that guy, because he looked like he doesn’t know what he’s doing because he was just walking around with loaded gun pointing all around and in the other hand he had a cigarette. Then we came to the top of that hill and we saw even more huntsman on the opposite hill. And also our path ended. We were in the middle of something that could be a crossfire area and also in the middle of vineyards and open fields. Well we tried to avoid the huntsman as much as possible, so we just went through some field and a muddy vineyard, so we got on some other path. It was so muddy and I had my white snickers on! I really didn’t expect that kind of ground when I was deciding which shoes to put on. =) Well then we arrived to the street we were supposed to reach, but the problem was it was on the other side of a high and totally overgrown wall. And that wall went all along that road, so we had to get over it somehow. Damir chose a way where there was some mud but no trees, but I decided to walk along the wall to a bit better place. And I found one with less plants and no mud, so it seemed perfect. I got on the wall and I stepped down on a ground covered with fallen leaves, but the problem was that under the leaves it was a channel, so I stepped around 15cm lower than I expected. I think I got a knee sprain. At first it hurt a lot, then after a minute it got better and I could walk, but I had to limp…
Oh well, at least we were just about hundred meters away from Buddha Eden, that was our destination. =) I managed to limp all around the gorgeous garden, I just had to be careful where and how I’m stepping. So about the Buddha Eden… it is amazing! I just love Buddha statues and stuff like that, so this was really an amazing sight for me. There were so many different Buddhist statues all around the park and so much symbolism everywhere. There is even an area with some sort of modern art. Oh it was great! =D I must go there again, maybe one day when it will be even warmer and there will be more sun, but even today it was amazing. When you are there it doesn’t feel like Portugal at all, it’s like you’re in China! And it’s really peaceful there, except at the largest Buddha, where there are always some kids running around… =) But still, oh my, I just love the park and everything about it! I’m sure I’ll visit it few more times! =) I think photos will tell more than my words. =)
After few hours of walk or in my case limp around the park, it was time to go to the train station in Bombarral. I knew it will take us a bit longer to get there, because my leg wasn’t in the same condition as when we arrived. =) This time we took a different road, the one where you get to the garden by car. So it was about 3km long walk and it was quite annoying because there was no sidewalk and these people drive quite fast on these roads. But we got to the town safe and in one piece, except my knee of course. =) We arrived to the train station 5 minutes before the train was supposed to arrive. We walked for about an hour from that garden to the train station, which is not so much if we consider that I had to limp all the way.
Well the train was 10 minutes late again, but it arrived and we got to Caldas da Rainha. It was quite a project for me to get off the train because its stairs are so high and narrow, so it hurt me a lot when I moved my left leg and then again when I stepped off the station platform, but at least I was still able to walk to the apartment. Slowly, but I did it. Though I thought it was really funny when some people stopped at the zebra crossing and I walked really slowly on the other side of the road. It was like I’m joking. =D
So I guess now I’ll stay in bed and be careful for what I do with my poor leg. I really want to get well as soon as possible, because in this city my legs are my only way of transport for everything. If I need to go to the shop or to school, I need to walk and so I need my knee to heal super-fast. =)
My mom said that I don’t put enough photos on my blog… Well it’s not that fast to edit them at least a bit… But today I think she’ll be pleased. =) I didn’t take as much time for editing, but there is a lot of photos today. =)

Leave a Reply

