Dealing with analog photography (days 40-41)

Day 40 – Monday, 29.10.2012
We woke up in sunny morning and the day started really well, though we didn’t do anything really worth mentioning before lunch. But when I ate my meal I suddenly started to feel a bit lazy and tired and when I looked out of the window I noticed that the weather changed too. It was cloudy and colder than before.
Well, despite that, we had to get out of the apartment and go to ESAD, because we had a class of Photography 2. We were supposed to develop photos from the film we developed last week. At first we gathered in the classroom and we were looking at some homework that students didn’t do two weeks ago. So Gaja and I sat there again, listened to the language we don’t understand and looked at the photos we didn’t like. Ok, maybe this time there were some photos that were a bit better or maybe we at least some connection to the film they were supposed to be based on.
Anyway, after a long time of suffering it was time to get in the dark room and start with work. Well… NO! It was another 2 hours of blablabla! Professor showed how to use the machine and how to make contact sheets from film to the paper, but the problem was there were to many students so most of us didn’t see well what he was showing and not to mention we didn’t understand anything again. Luckily we did this back in Slovenia couple of times, but we never did it totally by ourselves, we always had some help. Well some of the students did their contact sheets because that was like an example for all of us to see how these things go. At the end of the class the professor said to us: “Well, until next week you have to make your own contact sheet.” Wait, what?! Why didn’t we do it now?! Why did he tell us that at the end of the class? We could work at the same time as few other students if he would tell us that before! Now we have to figure out everything by ourselves. We could stay a bit longer after the class, but we were just so tired and sleepy because of the weather and this boring class of blablabla in Portuguese! When we started to have some hope for this professor, he disappointed us again. Really, just few words to us and at the end we’re on our own with no help from him. Well yes, we will figure it out by ourselves or with help from classmates or something like that, but it’s not fair because professors are there to help students! So yeah, we were quite angry. I hope we’ll soon start with digital photography because this is torture if you have a professor like this.
Anyway, we went to Vivaci on our way home to buy few things and then we went home. I was so tired I went to sleep much earlier than usually.

Day 41 – Tuesday, 30.10.2012

Well, at first it looked like we will have sunny weather and Gaja and I will be able to do our homework with Hasselblad again. But just as we wanted to go out with the camera it started to rain. Stupid weather, it’s changing every few minutes. At least we had some rainbow on the sky. =)

Rainbow power! ❤ =D

After few more minutes all those ugly grey clouds went away again and the sun showed up again. So we went out fast to catch the good weather and we did our homework. This time we checked the camera and we think everything was ok with it and we think we did everything right with the film too, so we should get some photos out of this. =)
We finished photographing much sooner than we thought we will and we returned home just around noon. We felt relived because we knew we did everything we had to and it’s like you can breathe again. =D Also we were able to cook the lunch in peace before we went to school again to return the Hasselblad camera and stop by the International office to fill in some papers. And the sun just kept on shining… =)
And we talked with some Erasmus students about the Halloween tomorrow and we asked if they know about any party in the city. They said they know about one, but we saw some posters so maybe there will be more. We’ll see, but Gaja and I said we really want to go. =) I was thinking about being a vampire, since I’m watching True Blood these days… =) We went to Vivaci to see if they have any vampire teeth anywhere, but I only found ones that glow in the dark and I think that’s just weird and I don’t want that. If I’ll not get the teeth I guess I’m just going to be dressed more in Goth style and that will be it. We’re on low budget and we’ll just try to put together some clothes and accessories we already have. =)
I don’t know what got into me when I got home, but I was just tired, lazy and not in the mood for anything. It might be the combination of weather and the full moon, because Gaja said she’s not herself these days too. We’ll, it will pass. I know it will. =) Soon I’ll be happy, energized, positive and optimistic me again. Just give me a day or two. =)

Leave a Reply

